Expressing What Goes Unsaid.


“The role of a writer is not to say what we all can say, but what we are unable to say.” – Anais Nin

In the alternate universe of Facebook there is one question that is always asked: What’s on your mind? Every time I read that question in my status box I am always tempted to type what I’m really thinking, but almost every time I don’t. Why? Because sometimes what I’m thinking would be highly offensive to some people. Other times what I would say would be too personal. This isn’t just true in reference to my status on Facebook, it is also true in life. There are numerous times every day when I do not really say what is on my mind or what I really feel. The reason I don’t is the same reasons I don’t say what’s really on my mind on Facebook.

Life is full of moments when we are unable to say the things we really want to say. I imagine there is a store room somewhere in the heavens that contains all the words and thoughts that I have ever wanted to verbally express. The wonderful reality is that as a writer I can visit that store room and give freedom to the words and thoughts that I am unable to say in life. This is true of every artist. The books, movies, plays, or poems that I remember the most are those that give expression to the things that I always felt like I was unable to say. It doesn’t matter if it is offensive, personal, emotional, positive, or negative it is the role of the artist to express that which the rest of society leaves unsaid.

So if you are a writer, painter, playwright, poet, or any other type of artist may you continue to give expression to those things that the rest of the world is unable to say!

Share

This entry was posted in Blogging, Writing, Writer, Creative writing, Random Thoughts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

