When I Gave It Some Serious Thought


As a boy I would talk to myself whenever I felt alone or bored. I would imagine different characters, a setting, plot, and a conflict. Then I would begin to imagine the actions that moved the plot forward. It was at that moment I began to imagine the dialogue. I knew every character’s reaction and thoughts in any circumstance that arose in my imagined world.

My senior year of high school I began to write only it wasn’t stories but song lyrics. I would sit with a writing pad in my lap with music from a song playing in my head as I wrote down new lyrics for the song. After I would finish the lyrics I would turn them in to be critiqued by Mrs. Williams, my senior English teacher. It was at that point in my life that I realized what artists meant by a muse. Mrs. Williams was my muse. Besides, the fact that she was nice looking in teacher standards, she took the time to read the most god awful lyrics that had ever been put down on paper (but a little better than that damn cotton eye joe song. I truly abhor that song 🙂 ) Mrs. Williams not only took the time to read them but she would write little notes on the sheet telling me how much she loved them. As long as she continued to read them and encourage me, I continued to write.

As a literature teacher I love to take a situation in a story or a quote and apply it to life by telling my students a story from my life that relates to the quote or a part of the novel they are reading. I discovered that my students loved these stories, and then some of my students began to encourage me to write a story. The idea of writing a story had crossed my mind a few times in college, and sometimes when I would read a novel I would think about how cool it would be to write, but it wasn’t until some of my students actually suggested I write a novel that I actually gave it some serious thought.

Share

This entry was posted in Blogging, Writing, Writer, Creative writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

